Skip navigation

This is Part 3 of 5 of High Line: I ♥ NY.  Here are links to Part 1 and Part 2.

I was looking forward to the opening of the High Line, and even recommended out-of-town friends to visit it.  But somehow I managed not to go until last week.  My punishment was that all the vegetation that grew naturally between the tracks appeared in their least vibrant, hibernating forms.  I guess I will have to come back to NYC in the summer !

In the park, the railway theme is cleverly expressed in the design details of many of its fixtures.   For example, the elevation view of the park benches and the drinking fountain suggest graphically branching railway lines at a terminal.  The lounge seats are in segments and can roll along tracks, like train carriages.

These pictures show the vegetation, old train tracks, and architectural fixtures in the park.

One Comment

  1. good pics…been there and you’ve captured the angles and vibe really well!


4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Tagged music, NYC This is Part 4 of High Line: I ♥ NY – my series on the many reasons why we love NYC.  Here are links to Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3. […]

  2. […] NYC This is Part 5 of  High Line: I ♥ NY.  Here are links to Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 and Part […]

  3. […] is part 6 and the end of the High Line: I ♥ NY series. Links to earlier posts: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, and Part […]

  4. […] High Line: Style Details […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.